Fresh Music Friday: JAY-Z, Calvin Harris, Tyler, The Creator, Washed Out

An amazing day for music, and Frank Ocean, who is featured on JAY-Z, Tyler, The Creator, and Calvin Harris’ new releases.


JAY-Z – 4:44


JAY-Z is back, well, if you have Tidal or Sprint that is. If you don’t already then you won’t be able to find the album anywhere unless you join Sprint or find it on the depths of the Internet like I did. Beyond that Tidal bullshit this album is pretty awesome. With very few features, notably including Frank Ocean on “Caught Their Eyes” the album really does feel like a JAY-Z comeback album. Definitely a Tasty! listen. Hov is back.

1. “Kill Jay Z”
2. “The Story of O.J.”
3. “Smile” Feat. Gloria Carter
4. “Caught Their Eyes” Feat. Frank Ocean
5. “4:44″
6. “Family Feud”
7. “Bam” Feat. Damian Marley
8. “Moonlight”
9. “Marcy Me”
10. “Legacy”


Calvin Harris – Funk Wav Bounce Vol.1 


After Dj Khaled’s release last week it is so refreshing to hear a production focused album done right. Calvin brings all the feels and the funk on Funk Wav Bounce Vol.1 with help from who he dubbed “the most influential artists of this generation.” The album only runs 10 songs but it feels perfect, an easy listen in every way. I was never one for Calvin Harris in the past but this album deserves a spot on our ‘best of the year so far’ list. Tasty!

Tyler, The Creator – Who Dat Boy / 911


As I was writing an article about Tyler dropping the “Who Dat Boy” music video he surprised me with this release of a double single! On top of that, the music video cryptically hints at a July 3rd release date so expect more Tyler soon. Both of these songs are tasty jams but “911/ Mr. Lonely” the double track which features Frank Ocean with vocal help from Schoolboy Q, Kilo Kush, and Syd.

Washed Out – Mister Mellow


Washed Out’s first album in the last four years feels exactly like how it’s titled; “mellow.” If you’ve heard Washed Out before and like his style then this album will be up your alley but there’s no advancement or evolution here after such a long break. This album tries to relax you in every way and it succeeds at that at many times but the intention of the album is not to keep your attention but rather to guide you almost as background music in your relaxation. Give it a listen if you’re stressed.


Catch the best tracks from these albums on our Tasty! Jams playlists.


One thought on “Fresh Music Friday: JAY-Z, Calvin Harris, Tyler, The Creator, Washed Out

  1. Pingback: Hear Blue Ivy Rap On One Of Three New JAY-Z Songs | Peanut Butter & Good Jams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s